2020 Margaret Medcalf Award - Call for Nominations

Nominations are called for the 2020 Margaret Medcalf Award

This annual Award recognizes excellence in referencing and research in the use of State Archives held by the State Records Office of Western Australia (SRO). It honours Ms Margaret Medcalf OAM, Western Australia’s second State Archivist, for her valuable contribution to the development of archives in Western Australia. The winner of this Award receives a cash prize of $1000 or shares this prize if there is more than one winner. Works nominated must demonstrate the use and accurate referencing of State Archives.

Any work completed or published in 2019 is eligible to be submitted for nomination, and anyone, including the author of the work, may submit a nomination.

Nominated works need not be published, may be fiction or non-fiction, and in any media. Electronic versions of publications are encouraged for judging processes. To submit a nominated work please complete a 2020 Margaret Medcalf Award Nomination Form and email it along with the work, or an online link to the work, to sro@sro.wa.gov.au. If the work is only in print form, please advise when nominating.

The judging criteria for the Award are:

• Level of use of the State Archives Collection;

• Proficient and consistent use of referencing;

• Level of contribution to knowledge (historical, cultural, heritage, etc.);

• Original use of the State Archives Collection;

• Presentation

For further details including more information about the judging criteria for the Award, see https://www.wa.gov.au/organisation/state-records-office-of-western-austr... or contact sro@sro.wa.gov.au.

Nominations for the 2020 Margaret Medcalf Award should be addressed to the Director State Records, State Records Office of WA, email sro@sro.wa.gov.au by 4pm Friday, 31 July 2020.