State Records Commissioners

The State Records Commission consists of three ex-officio members: the Auditor General, the Information Commissioner, and the Ombudsman; and a Governor's appointee with recordkeeping experience from outside Government (that is, someone who is not a public service officer under the terms of the Public Sector Management Act 1994).

The current members of the State Records Commission are:

Mr Colin Murphy
Auditor General
Ex-officio Member

Ms Su Lloyd
Acting Information Commissioner
Ex-officio Member

Mr Chris Field (Chairperson)
Western Australian Ombudsman
Ex-officio Member

Ms Justine McDermott
Governor's Appointee

Mr Colin Murphy
Auditor General for Western AustraliaColin Murphy
Ex-officio Member
(Chair 2007 to March 2016 and
Commission member 2007- )

Colin Murphy is the Auditor General for Western Australia.

Prior to taking up his current role, Colin acted as Director General for the Department of Justice and then for the newly formed Department of the Attorney General.  Colin acted as Under Treasurer during the 2005 state election and the 2005-06 budget.

Colin has extensive experience in finance and administration in both State and Commonwealth Government roles.  He has previously worked for the Commonwealth Department of Finance in Perth and Washington DC and as Business Manager for Murdoch University.  Within the State Government, he has held senior positions in the Department of Treasury and Finance, the Department of Land Administration, the Building Management Authority and the Office of the Auditor General.

Colin holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Western Australia. He is a Fellow, Past State President and a Board member of CPA Australia.  

Su LloydMs Su Lloyd
Acting Information Commissioner
Ex-officio Member
(Commission member 2017-)

Su Lloyd, formerly the Principal Legal Officer at the Office of the Information Commissioner, has been appointed Acting WA Information Commissioner for a period of 6 months, commencing on 22 September 2017.

Holding degrees in law and education, Su is also a nationally accredited mediator, and a former Adjunct Professor at the School of Law, Murdoch University.

Su’s previous role at OIC included developing and implementing the office’s strategic plans, and dealing with the most complex and sensitive external review applications. Prior to joining the OIC in November 2012, Su held senior executive positions in government for over a decade, primarily in strategic industrial relations and corporate restructuring roles.

She has also enjoyed a diverse legal career including at large commercial law firms, as a barrister, 5 years heading a boutique legal practice, and as special counsel, workplace relations with a mid-sized commercial law firm.

An accredited Gateway reviewer for the Commonwealth and WA, Su has reviewed several major high profile ICT infrastructure projects including a statewide health ICT system, a whole of government IT system valued at over $2 billion, a justice sector project worth $85 million and the strategic assessment of a new government agency with an annual budget in excess of $280 million.

Su’s overseas experience includes presentations to the UK’s Information Commissioner Office in Manchester, UK and Belfast, Northern Ireland in 2014, advanced mediation training at the World Intellectual Property organisation in Geneva, Switzerland, and more recently, as Expert Assessor and guest presenter at an international mediation competition – CDRC Vienna, Austria earlier this year.

Chris Field

Mr Chris Field

Ombudsman for Western Australia
Ex-officio Member
(Commission member 2007-
Chair March 2016 -)

Chris Field is the Western Australian Ombudsman. He concurrently holds the role of Energy and Water Ombudsman. Chris is also the Chairman of the State Records Commission.

Chris is the Treasurer of the International Ombudsman Institute and a member of the Executive Committee of the Board of the Institute. He is also a member of the Integrity Coordinating Group.

Chris is an Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Law at the University of Western Australia and founder and co-coordinator of the unit, Government Accountability – Law and Practice. Chris is also the author of a range of publications on law, economics and public policy, including the university text, Current Issues in Consumer Law and Policy. He is also the 'Consumer Dealings' editor of the Australian Business Law Review.

He commenced his career as a lawyer at Arthur Robinson and Hedderwicks (now Allens Linklaters), prior to holding the roles of Executive Director, Consumer Law Centre Victoria and Chairman, Australian Consumers’ Association (now Choice). Immediately prior to his appointment as Ombudsman, he was an inaugural Member of the Economic Regulation Authority. He holds Arts and Law (Honours) degrees.

Justine McDermott

Ms Justine McDermott
Governor's Appointee
(Commission member 2009 - 2012;
renewed 2012 - 2015;
renewed 2015 - )

Bachelor of Arts, Member of the Records Management Association of Australasia

Justine McDermott is the former Director, Information Governance Services at the University of Western Australia (UWA).

Justine has over 20 years’ experience in the field of information management.  She joined the Sydney office of the National Archives of Australia in 1989, where she worked for seven years in the areas of Information Services and Records Evaluation and Disposal.  After moving to Perth in 1996, Justine held the positions of University Archivist and Records Manager at Edith Cowan University and the Botanic Parks and Gardens Authority respectively, before joining the UWA as University Archivist in 1999.  In the position as Director Information Governance Services her main responsibilities included ensuring the UWA’s compliance with the State Records Act 2000 and the implementation of effective records management strategies, including the rollout of electronic document management, throughout the University. Justine is currently taking a well earned break from that role and continues to support the State Records Commission. 

Former members of the State Records Commission

Des Pearson

Mr Des Pearson (Inaugural Chairperson)
Ex-officio Member (Auditor General), July 2001 – September 2006



Bronwyn Keighley-Gerardy

Ms Bronwyn Keighley-Gerardy
Ex-officio Member (Information Commissioner), July 2001 – October 2003




Murray Allen

Mr Murray Allen
Ex-officio Member (Western Australian Ombudsman), July – September 2001




Kandy-Jane Henderson

Ms Kandy-Jane Henderson (First Governor's Appointee)
Governor’s Appointee (Archivist, John Curtin Prime Ministerial Library), July 2001 – December 2008




Mr Alex Errington
Ex-officio Member (Acting Western Australian Ombudsman), September 2001 – March 2002



Deirdre O'Donnell

Ms Deirdre O’Donnell
Ex-officio Member (Western Australian Ombudsman), March 2002 – March 2007




Darryl Wookey

Ms Darryl Wookey
Ex-officio Member (Acting Information Commissioner), November 2003 – October 2007




John Lightowlers

Mr John Lightowlers
Ex-officio Member (Acting Information Commissioner), October 2007 – May 2009




Sven BluemmelMr Sven Bluemmel
Ex-officio Member (Information Commissioner), May 2009 - September 2017




Last updated 20 October 2017